National Blue Ribbon School

Lakota's Freedom Elementary Named as 1999 National Blue Ribbon School

Congressman Boehner Congratulates Lakota School on Receiving National Award for Excellence in Education

U.S. Department of Education - Blue Ribbon SchoolWest Chester's Freedom Elementary School, a part of the  Lakota Local School system, has been named as a 1999 National  Blue Ribbon School by the U.S.Department of Education. The National  Blue Ribbon Schools award was established by the Reagan Administration  in 1982 to identify and recognize outstanding public and private  schools across the United States.

U.S. Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) praised Freedom Elementary's administration, faculty,  students and families for earning the national award.

"This is great news for our community, and further confirmation of Lakota's  reputation as one of Ohio's best public school Systems," Boehner said. "The  teachers, administrators, parents and students at Freedom Elementary can be  very, very proud of this achievement."

Freedom Elementary is one of just 16 schools in the State of Ohio to receive  the 1999 Blue Ribbon Schools award, and one of just two in Ohio's 8th Congressional  District. Milton-UnIon Elementary School, in Miami County, also received the  distinction this year.

This is the second time Freedom has earned the distinction. To qualify for the  Blue Ribbon Schools honor, schools must be recommended for national recognition  by their state department of education or sponsoring agency. Schools go through  a rigorous self-assessment process that involves the entire school community.  Nominations are evaluated by a National Review panel, and a final decision is  made by the U.S. Secretary of Education.

"When schools, families, and local communities work this closely together, it's a recipe for excellence in education," said Boehner. "It's great  that the federal government has recognized everyone at Freedom for the great  job they do in preparing students for the future."

Boehner gave particular credit to Freedom Elementary principal David Tobergte  and Lakota School Superintendent Kathy KIink for helping Freedom earn the national  distinction.